Book Review & Giveaway: Doodle Sketchbook by Dawn DeVries Sokol

img_0927

If you’ve been following my blog, you know I’m a big fan of art journaling.  In fact, I’m so enthusiastic about art journaling that I volunteer-teach it to at-risk public school children.  I believe art journaling – the unique combination of writing and visual art – can benefit everyone:  women, men, children, and adults.  It was a pleasure, then, to receive a copy of the Doodle Sketchbook, by Dawn DeVries Sokol, to review.  Not only will I share a bit about this wonderful book with you, I’ll be hosting a giveaway with my review copy!

Let me start off by saying that while this book somewhat slanted towards boys, isn’t just for boys.  (Dawn agrees, and actually addressed the book’s name in this blog post)  If I wasn’t sharing the wealth and hosting a giveaway with the copy I received, I’d happily work in this book’s pages.  The Doodle Sketchbook: Art Journaling for Boys is perfect for anyone who wants to start journaling – particularly those who might not know where to begin, and those a wee bit intimidated by a blank white page.

Intended for a younger audience (ages 8 and up), some pages might not apply to an adult that uses the book – like Favorite Class Subject or Ode to High Tops.  However, an adult can either indulge his/her inner child, or use a particular spread of pages for some other type of art journaling – like collage.

img_0937

Creative Contents

160 pages long and filled with both color and substance, the doodle sketchbook includes several journaling prompts designed to get you busy art journaling.  Dawn begins with how to art journal, covers tools and attachment methods, and then moves on to prompts. Prompts include things like My Colors (your personal color palette), I Like to Eat… (journaling your favorite foods), and Globe Trotting (where in the world you’d like to travel).

img_0938

Small, portable, and sturdy, this book is easy to carry around and makes a great gift.  Give the Doodle Sketchbook to someone on your gift list along with a glue stick, some pens, and a small pair of scissors, and you’ve got a sure-fire winner – a gift that will introduce (or re-introduce) the recipient to a fun form of self-expression.

img_0941

Who Will Win?

One lucky person will win a copy of the Doodle Sketchbook, and it’s been signed by the fabulous Dawn DeVries Sokol! Simply leave a comment on this post to enter – one entry per person, please.  I’m also throwing in a 5 pack of Painters Opaque Paint Markers to add to the fun!

I will draw the winner a week from today, on October 25, 2011, and will announce the winner’s name in the comment section of this post – so please check back.  Not sure what to say in your comment?  Perhaps you can thank Dawn for sending me a copy of the Doodle Sketchbook!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this book review, dear readers.  Good luck and Happy Art Journaling!

Warm regards,
Melody

*Full Disclosure: I received one copy of The Doodle Sketchbook: Art Journaling for Boys for review purposes.

img_0940

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
This entry was posted in art, art journaling, art supplies, books, giveaway, inner child, inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

36 Comments

  1. Posted October 18, 2011 at 9:29 am by Helen Bradley | Permalink

    Melody,
    Your work is inspirational. Looking forward to checking out this book. I so love that you take your work to Kids. This makes me so happy!!! They are getting a chance to use their creative energy in a postive way and learn how Creative they are!! Good for you!!

  2. Posted October 18, 2011 at 9:38 am by Ellen | Permalink

    I love doodling! Dawn’s book looks amazing~
    Thank you for the chance to win! 😀

  3. Posted October 18, 2011 at 9:49 am by Amanda | Permalink

    Oh this looks like so much fun. I have never had an art journal but it really seems like it would be something I would love to do. Thank you so much for the giveaway and I really enjoyed your review.

  4. Posted October 18, 2011 at 9:53 am by cris | Permalink

    Cool Book! Thanks Melody and Dawn 🙂

  5. Posted October 18, 2011 at 10:26 am by Linda | Permalink

    Alyssa LOVES art and is taking an art class in HS this year. She just started an art journal. I love it when she brings it home excited to show me her work!!!

  6. Posted October 18, 2011 at 10:54 am by Barb L. | Permalink

    How cool is this journal for boys?! Yaaaay! Great idea. Loved the cover…

  7. Posted October 18, 2011 at 11:13 am by Diane Chen | Permalink

    Oh my, what a wonderful prize! Thank you Dawn and Melody for giving such nice stuff away!

  8. Posted October 18, 2011 at 12:49 pm by Terry | Permalink

    This is a cool prize. I think my son would enjoy an art journal like this – it’s true, the blank page can sometimes be a hurdle. This provides all kinds of inspiration.

  9. Posted October 18, 2011 at 1:09 pm by Mary Hicks | Permalink

    What a great idea, and a wonderful way to encourage a boy to pay attention to his creative side and have fun with pen and paper.

  10. Posted October 18, 2011 at 4:56 pm by Barbara | Permalink

    What a unique journal. I have lapsed in my journaling but this is an inspiration. Thanks Melody and Dawn.

  11. Posted October 19, 2011 at 12:09 am by gina lighton | Permalink

    I agree, art journaling is a wonderful form of expression! I love Dawn’s books! I think it’s brilliant to title it “for boys” because so many gift givers assume that boys don’t draw but they do! most definitely!
    Thanks for sharing this Melody!

  12. Posted October 19, 2011 at 8:28 am by Tammy Rutledge | Permalink

    Thanks to Dawn and Melody for the chance to win this great journal!

  13. Posted October 19, 2011 at 8:47 am by Marie | Permalink

    This looks like a great book. Thanks for the review and sharing it with one lucky winner.

  14. Posted October 19, 2011 at 4:01 pm by Gena Boone-Curtis | Permalink

    Very cool…makes you want to start doodling!

  15. Posted October 20, 2011 at 11:16 am by Erin | Permalink

    Oh what a great giveaway! I love Dawn’s work and would love to be able to give this book to a certain young man in my house with a birthday coming up . . . 🙂

  16. Posted October 20, 2011 at 11:46 am by Kristina | Permalink

    Love Dawn’s work, and would love to win a copy of this book!!

  17. Posted October 20, 2011 at 1:21 pm by Marylinn Kelly | Permalink

    Thank you, Melody, for offering your copy, and thank you, Dawn, for sending it. From what you’ve shown of the book, I like the pages that are already awash with color, just waiting for words and collaged elements.

  18. Posted October 20, 2011 at 1:23 pm by julie m | Permalink

    looks like it would be fun to use this book. i tend to have blank page syndrome, so it would really help.

  19. Posted October 20, 2011 at 1:54 pm by Nicole B | Permalink

    Super cool and I’m excited to find a new blogger who loves art journaling.

  20. Posted October 20, 2011 at 1:56 pm by Neefer | Permalink

    I just discovered your blog, and your art speaks to my heart. 🙂

  21. Posted October 20, 2011 at 2:13 pm by Debbie | Permalink

    What a cool giveaway! Thanks, Dawn & Melody…I know a young man who would love to receive this fabulous prize…as a surprise from Santa & his Elves.
    xo
    Debbie
    ===^..^===

  22. Posted October 20, 2011 at 3:35 pm by roc nicholas | Permalink

    what a wonderful give away….so kind and generous. please add me for a chance to win.

  23. Posted October 20, 2011 at 5:34 pm by Melissa Norstrom | Permalink

    That is wonderful to do a giveaway. And thank you for the chance to win a copy to give to my son.

  24. Posted October 20, 2011 at 10:06 pm by Rita A. | Permalink

    I’m slowly gathering all the Keri Smith books. it would e wonderful to win one.
    Thanks for the chance.

  25. Posted October 21, 2011 at 1:30 am by CJ Long | Permalink

    I’ve just recently found your blog and I’ve enjoyed reading it. Thanks for a chance to win this awesome book!

  26. Posted October 21, 2011 at 2:58 am by Grace | Permalink

    This looks like a fun book to journal in. Thanks for the chance to win!

  27. Posted October 21, 2011 at 7:35 am by llizard | Permalink

    This looks like such a fun book. Great way to start doodling

  28. Posted October 21, 2011 at 7:47 am by TJ | Permalink

    I work at a domestic violence shelter and want to incorporate journaling as a healing tool for the women I work with. This would be a great gift for a woman who wants to journal!

  29. Posted October 21, 2011 at 9:00 am by Lizbeth | Permalink

    Thanks for the opportunity to win this. It looks like a lot of fun!

  30. Posted October 21, 2011 at 10:03 am by Karen Anne Brady | Permalink

    I was reading Seth’s “The Alterted Page” Blog, visited Dawn Devries Sokol’s Blog and finally made my way to your blog!

    Thank you for sharing the some of the pages from Dawn’s journal, it is much more than just a blank page journal for doodling … she brings enthusiasm and inspiration to each page! This is a wonderful and fun book!

    I would love to be included in the give away!

  31. Posted October 21, 2011 at 3:11 pm by georgia lichon | Permalink

    Praise to you and the work you are doing with “kids”. As a “peds” nurse, I often used art (touch drawing and doodles) in the clinical setting. It was amazing to see kids take naturally to the doodles. What a generous offering of the book.

  32. Posted October 21, 2011 at 5:23 pm by Cynthea | Permalink

    Doodle sketchbook sounds great! thanks for the opportunity to win one 🙂

  33. Posted October 21, 2011 at 7:21 pm by Robert | Permalink

    I’ve just found your blog, and really like what I have seen, so far (I am now a follower!). Thanks for the opportunity to win this great book. It looks like it could be quite inspirational, and I know just the child who could benefit fro having it!

  34. Posted October 22, 2011 at 4:09 pm by Barbara I. | Permalink

    Would love to win this sketchbook (and the markers) as I gave the “girls’ version” to my niece and would love to give this “boys’ version” to her older brother! So much fun. Thanks for the opportunity to win this great giveaway.

  35. Posted October 22, 2011 at 6:31 pm by Sue S. | Permalink

    Dawn sent me your way to be a part of this awesome journal book giveaway! I love her doodling and am looking forward to her upcoming class NaNoJouMo! She has an awesome style of doodling and love she is getting youngsters involved ! I was thinking of giving this journal (if i won it) to my nephew till I read she was going to sign it, now I will be the one doodling in it…!!! 😉

  36. Posted October 25, 2011 at 7:41 am by Melody M. Nunez | Permalink

    GIVEAWAY WINNER!

    Thank you for entering my giveaway, folks! The winner of the signed copy of The Doodle Sketchbook: Art Journaling for Boys – and the paint markers – is Lizard!

    Congratulation, Lizard! I’ll contact you shortly via email to get your mailing address.

    Please stay tuned for my next giveaway, y’all, which is just around the corner in November. And thanks again to Dawn DeVries Sokol for sharing her book, The Doodle Sketchbook.

    Warm regards,
    Melody